Scroll to top
en fr

Open Space

What is an Open Space?

Open space or “open space” is an increasingly common arrangement in companies. It consists of opening up the work surface by eliminating partitions to bring teams together in one single space.

What are the advantages?

If Open Space has been a hit for several years now, it’s because they increase the productivity of companies in several ways:

  • Foster communication between teams
  • More friendly working environment
  • Better responsiveness of teams
  • Space saving, therefore financial gain

Working in an open space allows you to benefit from a more interesting team cohesion: the employees of the different departments can communicate more easily and more directly. No need to go through e-mails, exchanges are fluid and fast and responsiveness is increased.

Well-being at work is also affected, the teams are less isolated, and open space models are appearing more and more pleasant and comfortable. Some models provide “chill” spaces in a cozy atmosphere, relaxation rooms with the essential table footballs, ping-pong tables. There are also cafeterias, quieter meeting rooms.

The spaces are shared and the equipment is thus pooled. This model therefore considerably reduces costs and reduces the necessary office space thanks to the decompartmentalization.

What limits?

Noise, promiscuity, lack of privacy: working in an open space is also the subject of debate. This organizational model involves a noisier environment which can distract or even stress the rest of the teams. Open spaces therefore work if they are well thought out! The layout must combine organization and creativity, individual spaces and collaborative workspaces. We must not neglect confidentiality spaces as well as places conducive to communication: think about an adapted space planning, provide phone boxes, meeting rooms, creativity rooms.

 

 

Do you have a project, a question ?

preloader
Scroll to top

Open Space

Qu’est-ce qu’un Open Space ?

L’open space ou « plateau ouvert » est un aménagement de plus en plus courant dans les entreprises. Il consiste à ouvrir la surface de travail en éliminant les cloisons afin de réunir les équipes au sein d’un seul et même espace.

Quels avantages ?

Si les Open Space cartonnent depuis plusieurs années maintenant, c’est parce qu’ils augmentent la productivité des entreprises de plusieurs façons :

  • Favoriser la communication entre les équipes
  • Environnement de travail plus convivial
  • Meilleure réactivité des équipes
  • Gain de place, donc gain financier

Travailler en open space permet de bénéficier d’une cohésion d’équipe plus intéressante : les collaborateurs des différents services peuvent communiquer plus facilement et plus directement. Plus besoin de passer par les e-mails, les échanges sont fluides et rapides et la réactivité accrue.

Le bien être au travail s’en ressent également, les équipes sont moins isolées, et les modèles d’open space de plus en plus agréables et confortables apparaissent. Certains modèles prévoient des espaces “chill” dans une ambiance cosy, des salles de détente avec les incontournables babyfoots, tables de ping-pong. On trouve aussi des cafétérias, salles de réunion plus calmes.

Les espaces sont partagés et les équipements sont ainsi mis en commun. Ce modèle réduit donc considérablement les charges et diminue la superficie nécessaire  des bureaux grâce au décloisonnement.

Quelles limites ?

Bruit, promiscuité, manque d’intimité : le travail en open space fait aussi débat. Ce modèle d’organisation implique un environnement plus bruyant qui peut déconcentrer voir stresser le reste des équipes. Les open spaces fonctionnent donc s’ils sont bien pensés ! L’aménagement doit combiner organisation et créativité, espaces individuels et espaces de travail collaboratifs. Il ne faut pas négliger les espaces de confidentialité de même que les endroits propices à la communication : réfléchir à un space planning adapté, prévoir des phones box, des salles de réunion, des salles de créativité.

 

 

Vous avez un projet, une question ?